Jewelry Organization – quick & thrifty

It’s a beautiful spring day In Owasso, Oklahoma… and the only thing better than a beautiful day is a beautiful closet. I have to admit that most of the time my closet/room look like a tornado struck (it is tornado season, after all).

My problem?

I want everything to be on display, of course! I have never been a huge fan of using drawers or jewelry boxes because they hide my beautiful little treasures (and when you’re on a college budget, you treasure everything.) Well I sadly haven’t found a perfect solution for clothes organization yet but I did find one for some of my jewelry & I call it a jewelry board. 

Image

 

This project was insanely simple and only took about 20 minutes to put together. All supplies came from Hobby Lobby and came to about 22 bucks. Don’t forget to use a 40% off mobile coupon!

Supplies used: 

  • 1 framed cork board. Comes with the hardware to mount to the wall.

http://shop.hobbylobby.com/products/17-x-23-wood-frame-cork-board-514935/

  • 2 sheets of scrapbook paper (I used a rose gold glitter paper)
  • about 14 inches of accent ribbon (I chose the chevron because it matched my natural colors theme)
  • Twelve 1″ cup hooks

http://shop.hobbylobby.com/products/1-cup-hooks-470781/

  • Tacky Glue

http://shop.hobbylobby.com/products/aleene-s-8-ounce-tacky-glue-154195/

Putting the board together is very simple. Use the tacky glue to attach the scrapbook paper. I had to cut one of the sheets and shape it around the area to fit. I ended up leaving the earring side of the board empty so that the earrings were easy to see. The board comes with a few thumb tacks, which is what I used to attach the ribbon to provide a visual barrier between the areas. Last but not least, gently insert the cup hooks into the board through the scrapbook paper. Since my paper was very sturdy, I didn’t have any issues with it tearing or messing it up. After that, you can choose to paint the frame or add some extra bling.

For an extra touch, I found little metal mini bins in the dollar section at Target. I sat them next to my jewelry board to hold bobby pins & backs to my earrings. Get creative!

 

Leave a Reply

