5 Steps to Flawless Summer Makeup

Summer has officially started here in good ole Oklahoma. That means one thing here: it’s HOT. I think the snocone was God’s gift to those of us in the heat of the country. As the days get longer and the shorts get shorter, I have noticed that I tend to wear less makeup… and somehow pull it off. It’s not just because of sweat that I wear less makeup, seeing as I tend to have pretty heavy-duty makeup, but mostly it’s due to a better tan and lots of trips to the pool & lake. As much as I love, love, love fall & early winter, I really do enjoy not having to spend as much time getting ready.

With less makeup comes a different type of commitment: finding the right products. Without figuring out the ‘less is more’ rule, things could get a little scary.

This is my 5-step guide to the perfect Summer makeup: 

1. Concealer: 

This is just one of those things I can’t live without, regardless of the season. I tend to have two on-hand: a darker one for summer and a lighter one for the winter. My favorite one is by Bobbi Brown and comes with a powder to put over the cream, essential for sweaty summer days. Buy it here.

2. BB Cream:

If you’re anything like me, you’ve been seeing commercials these days advertise for ‘BB’, ‘CC, and ‘DD’ creams… and wondering if it’s an ad for Victoria’s Secret. Once I actually did some research I realized that a BB Cream is perfect for summer. It’s lighter than a foundation, but stronger than a tinted moisturizer so it still covers up most blemishes and has a SPF so you don’t need to worry about adding sunscreen to your face. My favorite BB cream right now is by Clinique. You can find it here.

3. Bronzer: 

This is my favorite part of my summer makeup regime. I found the perfect bronzer recently that doubles as a bronzer and a blush. I’m such a makeup nerd that it literally makes me giddy. Brush a little on your cheeks and T-Zone after applying a BB cream and you’ll be good to go! What’s this ‘perfect’ bronzer called? Illuminating Bronzing Powder by Bobbi Brown in shade ‘Santa Barbara’.

4. Mascara: 

During the summer I tend to skip eyeliner and eyeshadow most days. Mostly because nothing is worse than jumping in a pool and coming up from the water looking like a raccoon. That being said, I still like to have my eyelashes pop. I have searched far and wide for the ‘perfect mascara’ and the best one I’ve found comes from a drugstore and it’s Loreal Paris’s Power Volume Mascara in ‘blackest black’. Use a little bit of this by itself for a pretty & simple look.

5. Lip Balm

The last product I love to use on summer days is simply: lip balm. Lip gloss makes me feel sticky, lipstick is too fancy for the pool. Not to mention the need for moisture after tanning. I adore Burt’s Bees Hydrating Lip Balm with Coconut & Pear. It smells & tastes like summer happiness.

I have found that with the combination of these 5 products you can pull off a simple, pretty summer look that looks like you didn’t spend time putting on makeup (and isn’t that the whole point, anyway?)

 

Let me know what you guys use for your summer makeup by leaving me a comment! :)

 

Leave a Reply

